This blog follows the trials and tribulations of our young band trying to make a career in music.

TexaSuprised!

Well, first off I’d like to apologize for not being very punctual on my blog updates.  Secondly, if you’re going to play live at a coffee shop in Dallas, do it at Opening Bell!

As we drove from Lubbock to Dallas we all didn’t quite know what to expect; considering this was going to be our first gig at a cafe’-type setting.  Not only that, but it was also going to be our first ‘all ages’ show.  No alcohol or screaming party animals at this gig.  Not that that’s the only reason people scream and cheer…I hope it’s because of the music we make.   Regardless, it was going to be a different set up.

As we were pulling our gear from the trailer I noticed more and more people filling the seats at Opening Bell.  “Wow!” I thought, “this coffee house gig might just prove worthy.”  It did.  As we took the stage we were greeted with cheers from about 75 people; and in a small coffee shop, that can seem like a packed stadium with thousands of screaming fans!  At least that’s what I like to think of it as…or hope that it will be so in our future.  We made several new friends and sold about 20 CD’s.  What a great gig.  Thanks Opening Bell!

As I a sit here typing this I am in a nice hotel room and I just finished a room serviced breakfast in bed.  Why am I not in the KOA campground with the rest of the boys you ask?  Well, I was as surprised as you all when I opened my tent on Friday afternoon.  Cody and the boys had told me they had seen a lizard inside through one of the screen windows.  “In my tent,” I excitingly announced, “Awesome, I love lizards!”  I ran out of the KOA club house where we had set up our office for the day with the boys swift behind me; awaiting the surprised look on my face.  As the opening of my tent was drawn back, a head popped out at me.  Dad?  What the F@#$!

In case a few of y’all (my time in Texas is becoming apparent) didn’t know, it’s my birthday today. I am 25.  I guess my dad had been planning a surprise visit for a few weeks now and the boys were in on it.  So we spent the night around a BBQ pit laughing over a few beers.  Today we have plans of hitting the local Six Flags here in Dallas.  Wow!

Cody Beebe & The Crooks will be performing at The Moon Bar in Fort Worth, TX on Sunday, March 13th.

-Ty

Leave a Reply

