This blog follows the trials and tribulations of our young band trying to make a career in music.

Finding Neumos

After a few weeks of promotion it has come to my understanding that not everyone knows where Neumos is.  Walking through the streets of Seattle one can’t help but notice the countless music venues.  From The Nectar Lounge to El Corazone the options are endless.  Anyone can be a music lover.  But to be a true music lover in Seattle it is essential to know where to go and which venue suits your needs best.  Neumos Crystal Ball and Reading Room, A.K.A. Neumos, is a mid sized music venue in Seattle Washington.  The venue, which was originally opened as Moe’s Mo’Roc’N Café in 1992 and re-launched in 2003 as Neumos (pronounced “new moe’s”), has been host to many big acts including: The Shins, Ween, The Raconteurs, Muse, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Feist, Bloc Party, The Streets, Kasabian, Jenny Lewis, The Kills, Connor Oberst And The Mystic Valley Band, Iron And Wine, Band Of Horses, and the list goes on.  This evening Neumos will have the pleasure of adding Cody Beebe and the Crooks to the list.  I can speak for the entire band when I say, “holy shit, I can’t wait to step on stage at Neumos tonight!” For more information and pre-sale tickets go to http://www.neumos.com.  

A Day in the Life of the Crooks: As I sit here typing this I look across the office at one of my best friends who is also preparing for tonight’s show.  If you don’t know Cody Beebe personally I recommend you acquaint yourself the next time you see a Cody Beebe and the Crooks concert.  He is one of the most genuine humans that I know and I take pride in calling him my brother.  Before I get too personal and sappy about my relationship with Cody, I’ll stop now and talk about another key ingredient to the deliciousness that is the Crooks.  Two words: Rich Brandt.  If you haven’t been to a Cody Beebe and the Crooks show lately then you’ve been missing out on, not only great music, but also the presence of Rich Brandt.  He is the strikingly handsome young lad who runs our merch booth.  If you want to buy our new album, get a new t-shirt, or simply put a smile on your face, come stop by our merch booth at our next show and talk to Rich.  I’m actually sitting in the same room with him right now as he changes the pandora radio station to brighten the mood…  He’s currently laughing as he holds his phone switching from electronica dance pop to country swing jigs…the thing about Rich is he’s always got a smile on his face.  Now I don’t know about you, but I personally find a smile worth more than any amount of money…maybe that’s why they call him Rich?  I know I feel rich when I’m around him…oop he just chose Willie Nelson and Waylon Jennings, “Mammas, Don’t let Your Babies Grow up to be Cowboys.”  Welp, sorry ma I’m not a cowboy, I’m a poor musician in Seattle…But life here is good.  Come say hello TONIGHT AT NEUMOS, 9pm!

CROOKS OUT!

Leave a Reply

